The Jucas Girls

A little bit of everything…

A project of my own! March 6, 2010

Filed under: Restaurants & Recipes — thejucasgirls @ 4:52 pm

Well, I’ve finally watched Julie & Julia.  What a wonderful, feel good movie.  My dad watched it when it first came out and raved about it.  He even perfected Julia’s speech and acted out the egg scene where she flips the egg and half of it falls out.  Hilarious!  He went on to buy the cookbook for me as a Christmas present.  Love it.  As I laid in bed with my husband watching this movie, we kept laughing at the parts that probably weren’t supposed to be funny because I could see myself in her, and he could see me in her too.  I found myself relating to Julie more and more.  First of all, I love to cook!  I have no formal training, but it is a total stress reliever for me-always has been.  I love projects–rarely finish one.  I love to write and set out to write a children’s book at the urging of my mother 10 years ago.  Status–incomplete.  My sister and I started writing a cookbook devoted to my mother’s recipes and entertaining traditions.  Sataus–incomplete.  Take this blog for example.  My sister and I thought it would be so much fun to blog about whatever was on our minds.  So far, it has been going for almost one year and we have so few entries on here it is pitiful.  And, like Julie, (at least in the beginning) our comments are only by family members.  Let’s be honest, NOBODY reads this blog!!  Why don’t I update?  I forget…am lazy…or start a new project of the moment.  As I am typing this, I have a half painted picture in my kitchen that I started last week.  I “borrowed” a canvas and paints from my sister (though this will be news to her) and began working on my new hobby.  It is pretty bad, but I still stand by the fact that if I would commit to it and practice, I could be decent.  I hoped to get into biking.  I own two bikes, and I can count on one hand the amount of times I’ve gone for a bike ride in the last 5 years.  Sadly, I could go on.

My point is, like Julie and maybe even Julia, I too am searching for my calling.  If money were no option, I would have a wine, cheese, and chocolate shop.  It would be sort of like Dean & Deluca without the produce and meats.  Since I don’t have the luxury of throwing money at a dream, I continue to dream and say…”one day.”

After watching the movie last night, I have since spent time going back over the Julie/Julia Project blog and can’t get enough.  Is this another one of my crazy ideas like biking, painting, and writing?  What sort of “project” could I do and blog about?  Is it too cliche to do something so similar?  I need some thoughts.  Ok–Dad/John, please give me your thoughts.  You are the only two who read, so I need some help.  Though I do love French cooking…and eating, I can’t do the exact same thing as Julie.  What can I do?  A new casserole each week?  See, this is one of my ideas to pitch to the cooking network– a series called “Casserole Queen”!!!  Is that stupid or what?  This is what I think about everyday.  Hmmm…Lithuanian cooking?  Are there any other greats out there that I can learn from?  Sure, I love Ina and Giada, but like Julia Child, you are never fully appreciated until you are OLD.  I just don’t think the Food Network stars are near old enough for this sort of project.

Thoughts?  I’ll be waiting to hear from you.

Love y’all,

Tracy

 

One Response to “A project of my own!”

  1. Angela Bever-Dugan Says:

    I am now an official fan of the Jucas girls blog, and please note that I am not a family member 🙂 Although, I have known and very much like the two of you more than some of my family. Told my husband after watching Julie & Julia if it would count if I did the same to the Southern Living Annual cookbooks I have collected over the years. Not sure if his laughter was because he didn’t think I could do it, or he was picturing what our kitchen would look like when I was done. Either way….I too would have to say, Status–incomplete!!
    Look forward to reading your updates and seeing the before and after photos of Kerry’s house.
    Love and best wishes,
    Angela


Leave a Reply

